The Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Awards
Educator, parent & kid testing goes into each product considered for an Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Award. We don't accept ads or charge "review fees" from manufacturers or publishers, so you know you're always getting independent opinions.
 
Latest Reviews
 
New Articles and Posts
Bargain Hunters Alert!
Tags:
Posted: 2014-12-21 08:55:37

Want to bring a wowee winner without ending up with ow-ee bills? Have we got a list for you! Affordable toys for baby & toddlers. These are just a few of our favorites for under $20.

Send in the Grandparents!
Tags: Big Ticket Toys
Posted: 2014-12-21 08:18:14

Every holiday season we find some expensive but exciting gifts. Some are pure novelty items while others are toys that will go the miles to be enjoyed for years to come. If you're still shopping and not finding a significant enough gift for the grandchild, niece or nephew, son or daughter, here, in age order (from infants to tweens) are some top-of-the-line choices for 2014.

Top Toys for Early School Aged Kids
Tags: Today Show, Best Toys for Early School Aged Children, toyportfolio.com
Posted: 2014-12-09 12:49:56 By: by Stephanie and Joanne Oppenheim

As the second part of our TODAY Show/toyportfolio.com 2014 Toy Review we focused on the best toys for early school aged kids. We had over 215 children (incuding seven sets of twins) from 24 states including Hawaii and Alaska participate with their families to review the top new toys for 2014. Many of the toys have been heavily hyped. We wanted to know how those toys stacked up with our reviewers.  

Click here to read the results for toys for Early School Years.

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

The Magic Number $19.99 & under
Tags:
Posted: 2014-12-09 12:48:47

For several seasons now toymakers have created an impressive selection of interesting toys for $19.99 and less. Good news if you are shopping for multiple gifts for all those nieces and nephews. We found a number of our top picks of the year in this price range. You can use our search engine at the top of our home page; just enter the year 2014 and 19.99 to find dozens of winning choices, including many picture books as well as toys. Here are some of our favorites that won't break the bank for each age group :

Today Show and toyportfolio.com Toy Review
Tags: Today Show, best toys, High Tech, tablets, activity watches, family games
Posted: 2014-12-09 11:36:27 By: by Stephanie and Joanne Oppenheim

We finish off the TODAY Show/toyportfolio.com 2014 Toy Review with a look at Hot Tech Toys for Kids and Family Games. We had over 215 children (incuding seven sets of twins) from 24 states including Hawaii and Alaska participate with their families to review the top new toys for 2014. Many of the toys have been heavily hyped. We wanted to know how those toys stacked up with our reviewers.  Click here to see the results.

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

How-To Hands-On Reading and Doing
Tags:
Posted: 2014-12-09 11:35:18


School aged kids enjoy trying new crafts if the how-to directions are clear and come with the materials they need. With the holiday vacation days on the horizon, these are activity books that will keep kids engaged and using their reading comprehension skills along with their creativity. These are mostly for the 8-12 age group, kids who like making end-products they can display or use with pride. Here are a few 2014 books that do exactly that.

Top Toys for Tweens
Tags: Today Show, best toys, Tweens, toyportfolio.com
Posted: 2014-12-04 10:27:34 By: by Stephanie and Joanne Oppenheim

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

On day four of our TODAY Show/toyportfolio.com 2014 Toy Review we're looking at toys for tweens (9-12). We had over 215 children (incuding seven sets of twins) from 24 states including Hawaii and Alaska participate with their families to review the top new toys for 2014. Many of the toys have been heavily hyped. We wanted to know how those toys stacked up with our reviewers.  

Click here to read the results for Tweens.

Top Toys for Babies, Toddlers and Preschoolers
Tags: Today Show, Best Toys for Babies, Best Toys for Toddlers, Best Toys for Preschoolers
Posted: 2014-12-02 09:02:58 By: by Stephanie and Joanne Oppenheim

This week we kick off the TODAY Show/toyportfolio.com 2014 Toy Review. We had over 215 children (incuding seven sets of twins) from 24 states including Hawaii and Alaska participate with their families to review the top new toys for 2014. Many of the toys have been heavily hyped. We wanted to know how those toys stacked up with our reviewers.  Each day this week we will reveal the results.

First up, the best toys for babies, toddlers and preschoolers.

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

Tags:
Posted: 2014-11-26 15:34:13

The Platinum, Gold, Blue Chip and SNAP Award winners for 2014 are in!  Congratulations to all the winners and a big thank you to our wonderful testing families.  Click here to see the awards.  

Add These to the Platinum Choices
Tags: Platinum Winners, Late Arrivals
Posted: 2014-11-26 15:33:02

As always we just received some products that were too late to make our original award announcements. Happily, they are not too late for shoppers to find. We add new products throughout the year and here are three notable products we think you will want to consider.

Products for Infants
Products for Toddlers
Products for Preschoolers
Products for Early School Years
Products for Later School Years
Twitter   Facebook     YouTube 

Oppenheim Toy Portfolio - All Rights Reserved. Oppenheim Toy Portfolio, Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Platinum Award, and Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Blue Chip Award are Registered Trademarks of the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio.


Instructions for submitting product to the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio for review.

 

 

Contact the Toyportfolio by phone at (212) 598-0502 or by email at Webmaster@Toyportfolio.com.

Copyright 1995-2014

 

Products reviewed by the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio are provided by the manufacturer at their cost. The Oppenheim Toy Portfolio does not require or accept fees for reviewing products.