The Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Awards
Educator, parent & kid testing goes into each product considered for an Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Award. We don't accept ads or charge "review fees" from manufacturers or publishers, so you know you're always getting independent opinions. We have awards for the best toys, books, videos, and audio for kids.
 
Latest Reviews
 
New Articles and Posts
Making STEM Toys fun and engaging
Tags: Meet the Toymakers, Roominate, Techbridge, STEM, Alice Brooks, Bettina Chen
Posted: 2013-12-13 08:09:01 By: by Stephanie Oppenheim

Meet Alice Brooks and Bettina Chen, the founders of Roominate - one of the new toy companies I'm most excited about this year. Alice and Bettina, both engineers by training, have joined forces to create a construction toy line that engages girls in building and introduces them to basic engineering concepts. Roominate is part of a larger and very exciting trend of  toy companies that focus on making STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) fun and accessible for girls. Research supports that girls who are not exposed to construction toys and concepts like circuits are behind their male counterparts when they get to college level STEM courses. Playing with blocks is not just fun, but it can make a huge difference in the level of confidence young women have about STEM-related course work and ultimate career paths. We applaud Alice and Bettina's commitment to the next generation of what they hope will be full of female scientists, mathematicians and engineers.  We can't wait to see how Roominate grows as a company. Read my interview with Alice and Bettina.

The Best Games of 2013
Tags:
Posted: 2013-12-09 12:22:54

As you're gathering holiday presents, we suggest bringing home a game or two.  Click here to read the reviews of many of our favorites of the year.

Toys for Kids with Special Needs
Tags: SNAP Awards, toys for special needs,
Posted: 2013-11-25 15:24:40 By: Joanne Oppenheim

Finding toys for kids with special needs is not that different from choosing toys for all kids. Good toys match children's developmental skills, their interests, and most of all are really appealing. Click here for Top Toys For Kids with Special Needs.

Preschoolers--Budding STEM Learners
Tags: STEM, toys
Posted: 2013-11-22 08:47:31 By: joanne Oppenheim

While educators look for ways to prepare students with stronger STEM skills (an acronym for Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) parents and preschool teachers know that little children are natural scientists who love to explore how things work. Click here for ways to nurture budding STEM learning...

STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering & Math) Learning Takes Root
Tags:
Posted: 2013-11-18 08:40:15 By: by Joanne Oppenheim

Worried about the reports that our kids are falling behind in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics? Recent studies by Georgetown University Center on Education indicate we need to be concerned and doing something to get our kids ready to compete in a technology-driven world marketplace. Want to know how the toys you choose can spark your sons' and daughters' interests and skills that lead to life-long STEM skills they need?  Read more.

Launch on NBC's TODAY Show
Tags: Today Show
Posted: 2013-10-18 11:10:12 By: by Stephanie and Joanne Oppenheim

After another fun year of testing for the best, we are proud to announce the 2013 Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Awards.  Click here to visit the Award Page or you can navigate through the tab Current Award Recipients on the top of this page.  Stephanie shared just a sampling of these outstanding products on NBC's TODAY Show  (The toys featured on the segment are reviewed in the article below).

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

As we ramp up to the holidays, we will be posting videos of many of our favorites as well as useful lists to help you bring home the perfect presents! We thank all the wonderful families that participated this year in testing products for us. Their feedback is a huge part of our process.  Congratulations to the design teams, authors, and illustrators behind the products that caught our attention and fully engaged our testers. Audio and DVD winners will be posted later in the month.

Happy Playing!

Joanne and Stephanie

Featured on NBC's TODAY Show
Tags:
Posted: 2013-10-17 18:40:35

Many of the top toys of the year are not just fun, but they provide your kids with valuable play experiences that can help build their language skills,  confidence, ability to weave stories, follow instructions, and stay with a challenging task. The good news is that many of these toys will not break the bank.  Click here to take a look at just a few of our favorites for the year

Look at the Toy...not just the license
Tags: licensed items, familiar characters.
Posted: 2013-10-11 16:50:06 By: by Joanne Oppenheim

Licensed toys are often short lived. Many are more like souvenirs of a movie or TV series. Since the toymaker has to pay extra for the license, they are often a bit pricier and as the movie fades, like most toys de jour, they tend to lose their appeal. The truth is, a Mickey Mouse puppet is no more educational than any other puppet. It may be easier for a child to play scenes with characters they know, but a puppet made from a paper bag may invite more original story-telling, language, and imagination than premade characters. As with most things, we are not absolutists. We prefer to look at the toy itself rather than the license.

This season we found quite a few well-known licensed toys that have play value. Click here to see some worth considering.

Ready Made or Ready to Build for Dramatic Play
Tags: minitature settings, pretend play, construction sets
Posted: 2013-10-08 12:08:35 By: Joanne Oppenheim

Though some kids like to dress up and play pretend with their entire beings, others prefer miniature worlds where they can move figures and vehicles about. For them premade settings such as garages, barns, castles, doll houses, and roadways come ready for action. Others prefer the fun of construction kits with all the themed pieces for building a setting that can be used for pretending. Click here to see some of the newest settings that will launch your child's imagination.

Be sure to check some of the other choices by clicking on the age group on the left and then searching earlier award winners.

A Few Choice Ways to Play the Numbers Game
Tags:
Posted: 2013-10-04 08:36:51

Meaningless counting skills are often offered on crib toys that look more educational than they turn out to be. We're always on the look out for games and toys that build children's true understanding of number concepts with concrete experiences. Click here for a few new products that do just that for preschoolers, early school grades and beyond.

Products for Infants
Products for Toddlers
Products for Preschoolers
Products for Early School Years
Products for Later School Years
Twitter   Facebook     YouTube 

Oppenheim Toy Portfolio - All Rights Reserved. Oppenheim Toy Portfolio, Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Platinum Award, and Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Blue Chip Award are Registered Trademarks of the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio.


Instructions for submitting product to the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio for review.

 

 

Contact the Toyportfolio by phone at (212) 598-0502 or by email at Webmaster@Toyportfolio.com.

Copyright 1995-2013

 

Products reviewed by the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio are provided by the manufacturer at their cost. The Oppenheim Toy Portfolio does not require or accept fees for reviewing products.