The Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Awards
Educator, parent & kid testing goes into each product considered for an Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Award. We don't accept ads or charge "review fees" from manufacturers or publishers, so you know you're always getting independent opinions. We have awards for the best toys, books, videos, and audio for kids.
 
Latest Reviews
 
New Articles and Posts
Small But Nice
Tags:
Posted: 2012-11-27 11:25:11

We will keep adding good choices for the multiple gift nights of Hanukkah or for Stocking Stuffers. Click here for today's picks.

Playful Card Games
Tags: under $15, games
Posted: 2012-11-20 15:56:20

A few new games are fun for the family to enjoy during the holiday season when school is closed and the "What can we do now?" time rolls around. Here is a mixed bag of games for various ages...from preschool to middle school.

For Infants and Toddlers
Tags:
Posted: 2012-11-20 14:29:21

If you have a few babies and toddlers on your list, wrap up some of these choices for $20 and under.Click here.

Good Choices For Less
Tags: Less than $10
Posted: 2012-11-19 09:20:37

Need a lot of little gifts for baby's first holidays, for stocking stuffers, the school party, the many nights of Channukah? We will add new choices for mixed age groups every few days.  Watch for more at $10, $15 and $20 tops. Here are good choices that will make a hit without breaking the bank. Click here...

Top picks of the Season
Tags:
Posted: 2012-11-12 14:13:36

Among the best gifts of the season are art materials that can be used for getting into the spirit of the holidays and those that will be used after the festivities are over. Among the craft kits we found this year are those for making gifts for others. We also found many outstanding open-ended art supplies for school projects or quiet afternoons--glitter glue, double sided colored pencils, fat crayons and more. Arts and crafts are not just fun. They invite kids to use their creativity while developing their fine motor skills and the important ability to follow step-by-step directions. You will find many more art materials in our age appropriate lists. Here are some of the top choices we found this season.

2012 SNAP AWARDS
Tags: special needs,
Posted: 2012-10-25 17:04:36 By: Joanne Oppenheim


Shopping for kids with special needs can be challenging but not daunting. To simplify we look for ordinary toys that you can adapt to build skills while they are having fun. Keep in mind that kids want toys that are like their siblings and you want to bring home toys that play to their strengths. Check all of our lists. Go to Search at the top of the home page and check the SNAP box and enter the year. We have dozens of SNAP items for 2012, but check out 2011 as well. Many of our SNAP reviews have games and adaptation suggestions. Here are a handful of our favorites.

Tags:
Posted: 2012-10-24 14:08:00 By: by Joanne Oppenheim

Dolls are classic gifts that fill a special place in the imaginary life of children. To toddlers and preschoolers, a doll or stuffed animal can be a comfort to hold onto in tight situations, or an imaginary playmate that will listen and take orders. For older children, a doll or action figure can be a far more elaborate character in their pretend play. Dolls from history, fashion figures or action heroes can be used for trying on grown up roles or making up imaginary adventures.  Dolls are not one-size-fits all

Featured on the Today Show
Tags: Awards, Today Show
Posted: 2012-10-24 13:59:16

As a kick off to the 2012 Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Awards, we were featured on the TODAY Show. The focus of the segment -- the best educational toys of the year. There are so many products that make this list in our book, but alas we can't show all of them in four minutes.  Click here to read the complete reviews of the products featured. At the same time we encourage you to look through your child's age range to find so many other outstanding award winners.  To watch Stephanie's segment with Al Roker, click here.

 

What Makes Goldie Run?
Tags:
Posted: 2012-10-11 09:43:30 By: Joanne Oppenheim

When you think of a perfect children's story, Goldilocks and the Three Bears is almost always on the list. What makes the Three Bears such an evergreen? What makes Goldie run? As stories go it just works so perfectly. It has repetition, simple counting, size concepts, and a fun story. Click here for new takes on Goldie.

Watch our segment from the Today Show October 2nd
Tags: Awards, Today Show
Posted: 2012-09-30 12:32:00

This year's Oppenheim Toy Portfolio 2012 Awards cap off another wonderful busy year of testing for the best. As always we looked at hundreds and hundreds of toys.  We're looking for the most engaging, innovative, well-designed toys of the year.  The best of the best go on to our network of toy testers all over the country to give us their feedback. For this season we had testers as far as Alaska, Hawaii and even London in the mix.  In additional you'll find books, audios and DVDs to enjoy together.

We are always grateful to the families that make this process so much fun. This year more of our first group of toy testers headed off to college-- how is that possible!  Our complete Platinum, Gold, Blue Chip and SNAP Award winners for 2012 can be viewed by clicking here. Congrats to all our award winners!

Our mission remains the same: to take the guesswork out of finding wonderful products to share with your kids. We hope you'll find our list useful! Please join us on facebooktwitter, and pinterest as we update our coverage as toy season heats up!

All our best,

Joanne and Stephanie

You can watch Stephanie's segment on the Today Show here.

 

Products for Infants
Products for Toddlers
Products for Preschoolers
Products for Early School Years
Products for Later School Years
Twitter   Facebook     YouTube 

Oppenheim Toy Portfolio - All Rights Reserved. Oppenheim Toy Portfolio, Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Platinum Award, and Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Blue Chip Award are Registered Trademarks of the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio.


Instructions for submitting product to the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio for review.

 

 

Contact the Toyportfolio by phone at (212) 598-0502 or by email at Webmaster@Toyportfolio.com.

Copyright 1995-2014

 

Products reviewed by the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio are provided by the manufacturer at their cost. The Oppenheim Toy Portfolio does not require or accept fees for reviewing products.