The Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Awards
Educator, parent & kid testing goes into each product considered for an Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Award. We don't accept ads or charge "review fees" from manufacturers or publishers, so you know you're always getting independent opinions.
 
Latest Reviews
 
New Articles and Posts
For Every Age
Tags: classics, blue chip
Posted: 2011-11-03 09:55:55 By: Joanne Oppenheim

Every year we see a lot of toys that are "refreshed" with just enough tweeking to make them feel almost new. We sometimes forget that to kids most things are new. It would be a shame if kids missed out on building blocks or crayons or trucks, just because they weren't invented yesterday.  Don't be afraid to bring home some of the favorites you played with not so-o-o-o long ago. Here is a short list of some of this year's Blue Chip list.

Tags: Toys Under $20
Posted: 2011-11-02 12:51:25

Our list is full of fun games, activities, dolls, and other fun props for play. Here are 20 of our favorites for this year. Click here to read the reviews

New Classics in the Making
Tags: wooden toys, classics
Posted: 2011-10-26 10:06:09 By: Joanne Oppenheim

If you prefer the classic look and feel of wooden toys, you are not alone. Most have a longer play life since they avoid the toy dejour stamp of licensed characters; they are not tied into the latest movie or TV hit. Classic toys can be passed from one child to another, even one generation to the next. Click here for some of the best wooden toys on this year's list.

Loaded with Play Power
Tags:
Posted: 2011-10-26 10:02:03 By: Joanne Oppenheim

For all the little ones on your shopping list there are plenty of choices that pay-off in play power without your paying out buckets. Click here for five great choices.

Active Learners
Tags: toddlers, active play, making things happen, wheeled toys
Posted: 2011-10-04 12:10:45 By: by Joanne Oppenheim

Sad, but true, toddlers are often more interested in the box and wrappings than the gift inside. We found some toys that won't disappoint. These are entertaining products that will match their curiosity and new found locomotion. Toys that involve making things happen and getting about on their own two feet are always good choices for toddlers. Click here to see our list.

Seven New Favorites
Tags:
Posted: 2011-09-22 12:48:06 By: Joanne Oppenheim

If you would like a change of pace from your tried and true (and still great) Monopoly, Candyland, and Scrabble, have we got good news for you! This was the year of innovative games. Try these for now and stay tuned, more games to come. Click here to find some of the top picks of the season.

That Build New Skills
Tags: building toys build skills, dexterity, math concepts, eye hand coordination, creativity, imagination, language
Posted: 2011-09-22 12:34:16 By: Joanne Oppenheim

Construction toys are more than fun. They are basic gear for many important kinds of learning. Age appropriate building toys change as children grow from toddlers to teens. Click here to see the review.

Science Books for Young Readers
Tags: bugs, dinosaurs, tadpoles, experiments, aquatic creatures
Posted: 2011-07-07 10:53:32 By: Joanne Oppenheim

For many of us, the thought of science books is a reminder of some old boring textbooks we "had" to read. Forget about that. Click here for some of the new choices books for young scientists in the making.

For Girls and Boys
Tags: gender free toys
Posted: 2010-10-20 13:44:54 By: Joanne Oppenheim

Finding toys that do not play on gender stereotypes is a lot easier these days than it used to be. Although there is still plenty of pink and lavender out there that screams--Girls Only and plenty of black with skulls and eyeballs shouting--Boys Only, there are less gender specific choices that will be enjoyed by children of either sex. Click here to read more.

Tags:
Posted: 2012-12-21 16:17:55

As promised, we are going to keep bringing you last minute suggestions that will not break the bank. Scroll down and check out earlier lists. Here are five winners that are sure to please.

Products for Infants
Products for Toddlers
Products for Preschoolers
Products for Early School Years
Products for Later School Years
Twitter   Facebook     YouTube 

Oppenheim Toy Portfolio - All Rights Reserved. Oppenheim Toy Portfolio, Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Platinum Award, and Oppenheim Toy Portfolio Blue Chip Award are Registered Trademarks of the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio.


Instructions for submitting product to the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio for review.

 

 

Contact the Toyportfolio by phone at (212) 598-0502 or by email at Webmaster@Toyportfolio.com.

Copyright 1995-2014

 

Products reviewed by the Oppenheim Toy Portfolio are provided by the manufacturer at their cost. The Oppenheim Toy Portfolio does not require or accept fees for reviewing products.